Sign Up
You Punjabi helps you connect and share with the people in your life.

Politics of Punjab News

Politics in Punjab is dominated by mainly two parties. One is Shiromani Akali Dal(Badal) and the other is Indian National Congress. Other prominant party is Bahujan Samaj Party especially in Doaba region. In 1992 BSP won 9 seats Vidhan Sabha elections. Also BSP won 3 lok sabha seats from punjab in 1996 general elections and only Garhshanker seat in1997 Vidhan Sabha elections.[3] Communist parties also has some influence in malwa area.

But in 2014 general electionsAam Aadmi Party got 4 out of 13 seats in Punjab by winning 35 coming second on 25 out of 117 assembly segments. Support Base of Aam Aadmi Party is increasing in Punjab.

(1947–1966): During 1947-1966 Punjab was undivided and consisted of present day PunjabHaryanaHimachal Pradesh, and Chandigarh. This meant that both population and religion factor of whole state was mixed and politics were dominated by Indian National Congress.

vikas jha
All times are GMT +3. The time now is 12:12 pm.